Time to pick up where I left

My bestfriend and I have wanted to do a fantasy photo shoot where we have painted faces. This is one of the photos that came out.

So today is my birthday Β – a time of self-reflection. And the first thing I thought I ought to do is write. There are a million other things vying for first place on my to-do list but writing came out on top.

Everywhere I look, I see something to write about. That’s how I know I’m a writer.

But …

I’ve struggled to write on a regular basis, as can be demonstrated by the time between my last post and this one.

I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching due to circumstances in my life that made me realise it’s not headed in the direction I wanted.

A major realisation was my desire and need to write. My mind is just crammed full of mental lists of article ideas and the beginnings of blog posts. The need to set these free on a page or the keyboard is becoming more urgent.

A more cathartic realisation, which is just coming about as I type these words, is that I want to write, first and foremost, for me! Everybody else is secondary. That means that I have some hope in releasing myself from the torment of the need for perfection and its debilitating outcome of procrastination.

This is one of the best birthday presents the universe can give me and I’ll take this as a sign I’ve started steering my life in the direction I want.

Leave a Reply

