Fifty Shades of what?

I’ve seen Facebook updates from certain friends about some book called Fifty Shades of Grey. Now, I haven’t read fiction for yonks so I didn’t really take an interest. And as far as I could gather, people were reading it because was a bit ‘saucy’.

Other than the fact that I’m not interested in romance/erotica books, I’m also not the type who’ll read a book just because it’s on any best-sellers list or everyone else is reading it (flashback to Da Vinci Code). Besides, I’m time-poor these days seeing as I have a three-year-old, so I was never going to read it.

Until I came across this book review on goodreads.comΒ by a woman named Katrina Lumsden.

This is the funniest book review I’ve ever read. And the animated gifs she used adds another dimension to the humour.

Here’s a quote accompanied with a gif from the review:

“Any time an author tries to sell me on a character’s “charm” by waxing hormonal about how “ridiculously good-looking” he is, I snicker inwardly. I can’t think why….

Photobucket

Huh.

Heehee.

If you want a bit of a giggle, I highly recommend reading thisΒ book review. I actually went ahead and read her review of the other two books. Yup, it’s a trilogy, apparently. A very badly written one too, according to this review.

If you don’t know anything about this book, well, all I can say is that my well-read intelligent friends whose opinions I admire think it’s trash, while the ones who appreciated it were, well, the type who were into their looks, the opposite sex and were mainly under 21.

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of what?

Leave a Reply

