The day doesn’t start at midday?

I’m not a morning person at all. My default hours are sleep at 2-3am and wake at around 10-11am.

It’s not the healthiest of sleep patterns but it’s what I’ve known all my life. But I also like it.

In those hours after 11pm to 3am, there’s such quiet you don’t get at any other time of the day. Though if I wake up at 4am I bet it’d be the same kind of quiet until 6-7am. But dawn is a mere acquaintance of mine.

So, having a home office has been fantastic because it means I can set my own hours. The only drawback is that if you don’t have discipline, you’re never going to get everything you want to finish done. And I’m struggling with finding more discipline at the moment.

Having a preschool-aged little boy also means I have to be more organised than other work-from-home mothers, especially since he doesn’t actually go to preschool. He stays with me all day and I have to incorporate his care into everything else I need to do.

Going back to late hours, my little boy has now got into the habit of waking up late. Unlike most kids with typical routines, he doesn’t wake up at 7am – or earlier (thank goodness). But in preparation for school possibly next year, I need to get him back into the routine of waking up at 7am, which he used to do when he was an infant.

I’ve been trying for a couple of months to be an early riser without any luck. The only thing that did the trick was the fact that hubby had to work on-site this week and has had to wake up. Since he has a knack for getting lost, I had to give him a lift to the office, meaning I also had to take my little one.

Waking up at 8:30 instead of 10 in the morning has been great. My son has breakfast at a decent hour instead of nearing lunch time .

The other day I found myself done with our breakfast routine and sitting at my desk ready for work before 10am! That usually doesn’t happen till a little after midday.

It felt so good to know that my morning was actually starting in the morning. It may sound silly to most people with normal routines but I’ve just come to realise this again.

Those two hours have been phenomenal in allowing me to do more stuff in the day and now I just need to keep it going.

Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to update this blog more than once a week – that’s got to be a good thing.

 

Leave a Reply

