Sleep is no cure for insomnia

It’s almost 2am… it was Mother’s Day earlier. I wanted my kids sleeping by 7:30pm but that didn’t happen – they were both asleep by 8:45pm instead.

At least the day started with a nice breakfast in bed. My presents were given to me on Friday when I attended the Mother’s Day special event at their school.

We had a low-key celebration not rushing to get anywhere, not even my daughter’s swimming lessons. It was a low-key and low-stress day. Just the way I like it.

After they all fell asleep I binged on Netflix with a packet of chips dipped in chipotle sour cream. The house was quiet and I was under the soft blankie alone on the couch. Just the way I like it!

But here I am in the wee hours of the morning, feeling sleepiness come slowly, but fighting it like a silly little toddler not wanting to take a nap.

I should really go to sleep, knowing I’ll regret it in the morning when I have to wake up to get the kids to school. I’ve always wondered what it is that makes me fight sleep so much, even when I know I shouldn’t. And I’ve been this way since I was a kid.

Is this a type of psychosis? A bad habit that’s hard to break? Or just a hormonal imbalance of some kind?

But it looks like there’s some kind of hope for hapless insomniacs like me. In the latest article called ‘Successful insomnia treatment may required nothing more than a placebo’ in Science Daily.

My problem now is that since I know it’s a placebo cure, would it work?

Leave a Reply

